top of page

Mirage EP

Joshua C. Love is following up his 2016 That's Shanghai-nominated full-length Medusae (Proximity Butterfly) with the aptly titled EP, Mirage. Having gone over one year between releases prior to Medusae, Mirage arrives in short order, but right on time for Joshua C. Love fans.

The six-song EP features material that was part of the writing phase for Joshua C. Love's personal album, with the style and theme clearly separated from the previous group's goals as a band. So Joshua C. Love went on to produce the album himself. The term “mirage” could easily imply an illusion of water in a desert, for principal songwriter Joshua Love, it was more about concave perception of what things “seem to be,” moving him through the creative process to finish the material. Mirage serves as the perfect companion piece to last year's string of Singles.

While preparing to tour last fall, the final pieces fell into place and a sense of urgency prevailed in bringing these songs to fruition. Originally one large album to be released in November of 2018, the list of 13 songs was broken into two EPs, reflecting very diverse approaches to the social commentary of today's random shootings, indigenous injustices and political trade tirades. Time was set aside at the top of the year at Aldith Studio in Toronto with a collection of local artists– Z (Robot), Heloise George (Bile Sister), & Elyar Khosravi. The collection of songs range from urgent ("Terra Incognita”) to dreamy (“Mirage”) to personal (“Perfect Soul”). The tones and themes all feel part of the larger narrative that presented itself on Visions bringing this collection of characters full circle. Listen to lead off track “Mirage”.

Mirage also includes the fan favorite “Be Still”. Widely bootlegged, but never officially released until last December, this remastered track is the newest song on the EP.

Track listing:

  1. Mirage

  2. Terra Incognita

  3. These Trees

  4. Dream in Flowers

  5. Be Still

  6. Perfect Soul

Intertwining technology and acoustic guitars, Joshua C. Love’s Mirage, available on August 31st, takes a step into a tragically beautiful, highly cinematic display of story-telling. With an astonishing new spectrum of sound, PB has embraced new directions in this ballad-laden collection of songs. Crafted and mixed in Toronto’s Butterfly Temples Studio (North York) and recorded at Aldith Studio (Mark Robin) on Danforth Ave, Mirage was mastered at APS Mastering by NYC’s very own Alex Saltz.

Mirage Trailer

Connect with Proximity Butterfly:

Mirage will be available on Apple Music, Spotify, iTunes, Instagram/Facebook, Google Play/YouTube, Amazon, Pandora, Deezer, Tidal, Napster, iHeartRadio, ClaroMusica, Saavn, Anghami, KKBox, MediaNet

bottom of page